Header1200x385

facebook_page_plugin
× Welcome to the CPL Meteorology question and answer forum. Please feel free to post your questions but more importantly also suggest answers for your forum colleagues. Bob himself or one of the other tutors will get to your question as soon as we can.

latest edition met book

• rossy
  • Topic Author

rossy created the topic: latest edition met book

Hi bob, i'm currently studying met and ive found what i think is a typo, unless i just cant figure it all out properly... in the issue 5, june 2010 book on page 5.10 the question im referring to asks what the approx qnh at perth would be. Now according to the synoptic chart on the bottom of the page the isobar that appears to run almost directly over perth has 1012 written on it, so how is it possible to come up with an answer of 1022? Halfway between 1020 and 1024. If the question asked for the approx qnh at adelaide, then i feel that would be the right answer, but not in this case.

Thanks in advance for your explanation.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Mickyd86

Mickyd86 replied the topic: Re: latest edition met book

Hi Rossy,

I also had the same problem when I read that question in an earlier edition (08 I think). I have a feeling I also got the same answer as you, so I too would be interested to see what the correct answer really is :)

Hows the study going?

• Thank you received: 257

bobtait replied the topic: Re: latest edition met book

Yes it looks like you're correct. That is a boo-boo. I'm amazed that it has gone so long with nobody else mentioning it. I have changed the answer to 1012 in the next print of the book.

Thanks for the feed-back. Much appreciated.....

• rossy
  • Topic Author

rossy replied the topic: Re: latest edition met book