Header1200x385

facebook_page_plugin

Left Field...UAV training (scale aircraft)

• plam
  • Topic Author

plam created the topic: Left Field...UAV training (scale aircraft)

Hi all,

I realise the subject may suggest I am completely lost coming here (and yes a complete newbie!) but in fact it seems these days that flying scale aircraft ie unmanned, requires some of the same training as a 'true' pilot under CASA regulations. :huh: I say true pilot as of course I am never going to put myself in the same class as a real pilot.

In order to fly a scale aircraft for a business I work for, CASA have advised I need to start by completing the ground based theory PPL and "qualify for the issue of a Radio Operators Certificate of Proficiency".

I contacted a number of Training Schools in NSW (I am located in rural western NSW) and none of them had heard anything about UAV training. They all stated that their courses were designed for 'true' pilots and could not help. :(

Given I just need to pass the theory I was looking at purchase the resources offered by this website and sit the PPL at a CASA examination venue, but I read that I wouldn't be allowed to sit for PPL without BAK (I assume this is standard even though not a CASA requirement in my case). In addition to obtain BAK I read I need to have a student pilot licence and a flight log book. I am also not sure how I would qualify for the issue of a Radio Operators Certificate of Proficiency.

I realise this is out of left field but I am hoping from the knowledge here someone might be able to suggest the best way to obtain BAK/PPL/Radio Operators theory with the idea that I am not training to be a true pilot.

I appreciate your help. :S

Phil

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• captainellzy

captainellzy replied the topic: Re: Left Field...UAV training (scale aircraft)

Hi Phil,