Header1200x385

facebook_page_plugin
× If you are studying for your BAK or PPL exams and need some help, please post your question here. Someone on the forum is bound to help you as soon as they can.

Compass card deviation correction

• Thank you received: 0

hiwing created the topic: Compass card deviation correction

Hi there,
I'm a newbie to the forum and hoping to find some help to an issue on correction of compass card devation heading vs magnetic course.
I have tried my first e- books PPL Nav test and cant find out why some of my answers for Compass deviation to magnetic course are incorrect.
My incorrect answers are only out by 1dg and I don' know why. Any replies to set me straight would be appreciated.
Hiwing

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Carello

Carello replied the topic: Compass card deviation correction

Without knowing the question you are having a problem with all I can do is give you a general explanation using a sample Compass Deviation Card.

The first thing that you need to realise is that when you navigate an aircraft by compass you are flying a compass heading, not a magnetic heading. Yes, the two headings are intimately related and use synonymously, but they can and often do differ by a few degrees. In effect, the required magnetic heading is corrected for compass deviation (error) on that heading to fly a compass heading.

Without getting into too much detail,
If you wanted the steer 360M, you would fly 360C - compass north and magnetic are the same
If you wanted to steer 090M, you would fly 085C - compass north is 5 degrees east of magnetic north (dev E)
If you wanted to steer 270M, you would fly 274C - compass north is 4 degrees west of magnetic north (dev W)

This is all straight forward if you want to fly one of the cardinal points, but what compass heading would you fly if you wanted to fly say 004M or 018M or 025M?