Header1200x385

facebook_page_plugin
× If you are studying for your BAK or PPL exams and need some help, please post your question here. Someone on the forum is bound to help you as soon as they can.

Passed RPL exam here are some tips

• nb1
  • Topic Author

nb1 created the topic: Passed RPL exam here are some tips

Passed rpl exam last week but was surprised to see a lot of the content:

I used bob tait book as my basis and read other bak books in sections i wasnt 100% on to get a different view. i knew the stuff i studied really well and had no problems with these. what surprised me were the topics that were either not in the book or are part of the ppl book not rpl so i hadn't studied them yet:

Heres where i tripped up in the exam:

Calculating density altitude - when given qnh, elevation and temperature (i am now studying from your ppl book and had a laugh to myself when you mention in it that you shouldn't need to calculate using the formula method in a ppl exam) this was in the rpl exam!

Interpreting met charts - synoptic chart interpretation (again thought this was in met for ppl )

Aileron drag - didnt read this in any of the books

RAMPC medical expiry - took me a long time to find the answer to this after the exam as its not in vfr-g not sure where it is in the regs, RAMPC is only valid for 2 years not 4 years for those under 40 unlike the other medical certificates

TODR - did this correctly on the performance charts but as it was close to one of the bars i put the answer as the next bar eg: i got a todr of 690 i put 700 as it was 1.5mm from the 700 line and got this wrong. I know i did it correctly so not sure if i was meant to put 690. (note i have used different numbers here from the exam). CASA should consider having multiple choice answers here rather then free text as it seems their tolerance is too tight. In a practical sense i wouldnt take off from that strip if i was right on the todr limit anyway, frustrating and worth 3 points)