Header1200x385

facebook_page_plugin
× If you are studying for your BAK or PPL exams and need some help, please post your question here. Someone on the forum is bound to help you as soon as they can.

Great result with PPLA theory exam

• diesel pilot
  • Topic Author

diesel pilot created the topic: Great result with PPLA theory exam

G'day everyone

First post on the boards, would just like to share my background and recent experience with my PPLA theory exam.

I'm a diesel mechanic based in Perth (originally from England) in the process of making a long awaited career change to a commercial pilot. Like many I've always wanted to be a pilot from a young age but it wasn't possible until years later when I could afford the costs involved. After a couple of trial flights, first in an R22 helicopter and then in an old 152 I definitely developed a fear of landing and have been sold on a career in aviation ever since. I'll never forget the flight in the 152, the door blew open and we lost part of the window during a barrel roll. I had to hold them both shut all the way back to earth. Lucky I was already accustomed to an open cockpit from the R22!

I'm following the 150 hour syllabus and elected to skip the GFPT component in favour of obtaining the PPL instead (I can cost share additional flights outside of the syllabus to build more hours if I can fly more than a 10mn radius of the deprature ARP: no better way to explore WA in my opinion :). A move found unusual by some people enrolled in a commercial course but it works for me.

Due to full time work commitments it's only been possible for me to fly on the weekends at a rate of 1 lesson per week and fit study in after work and whenever else possible. It's certainly not easy doing it this way especially studying after 12 hour shifts at work but I consider myself fortunate to have the opportunity.