Header1200x385

facebook_page_plugin
× Welcome to the CPL Navigation question and answer forum. Please feel free to post your questions but more importantly also suggest answers for your forum colleagues. Bob himself or one of the other tutors will get to your question as soon as we can.

Usable fuel/margin fuel question

• ray2310
  • Topic Author

ray2310 created the topic: Usable fuel/margin fuel question

Hi,
I sat my PPL test the other week and passed with 87% I am now studying up on my CPL Nav. I had a question come up which was along the lines of (can't remember the exact numbers):
According to my KDR I'm guessing I got it wrong.

I First worked out the flight fuel 12gp @ 160 mins = 32 gallons. I think I then subtracted 32 from the usable fuel which gave me 36 gallons.
I wasn't sure if usable fuel included the fixed reserves or not. Because the question stated. I then worked out the Fixed Reserve to be 9 gallons and got 45 gallons for margin at destination (Added 9 to 36) . I obviously did something wrong, I probably over complicated things.

The question threw me off a bit as it stated to use the cruise fuel flow to work out the fix reserve. Is usable fuel purely flight fuel or are reserves included in that.
What would the correct method of working this question out be?

If someone can shed some light that would be appreciated!

Cheers

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Thank you received: 257

bobtait replied the topic: Usable fuel/margin fuel question

Firstly, useable fuel means all of the fuel hat is available to the engine. That includes the fixed reserve. The fixed reserve is useable fuel - there would be no point having a fixed reserve if it was unusable would there? Assuming the examiner didn't give any allowance for start up and taxi and no mention was made of a variable reserve, the working would be as follows..

Useable fuel at take-off 68 gallons
Less flight fuel 32 gallons
Less fixed reserve 9 gallons