Header1200x385

facebook_page_plugin
× Welcome to the forum!

Tell us and our members who you are, what you like and why you became a member of this site. We welcome all new members and hope to see you around a lot!

BAK - Piper TO and Landing Charts

• Rob
  • Topic Author

Rob created the topic: BAK - Piper TO and Landing Charts

Hi,
This could also be in the BAK Q&A category but as my first topic, it's also an introduction.
I'm studying for BAK at Lilydale FS in Victoria, and have gone through the take-off and landing chart examples in the Bob Tait BAK book with no problems at all. But LFS uses piper TO and Landing charts - have some sample questions but no answer sheet, and a practice exam with answers but only two TO&L questions and I'm struggling with correct use of the piper charts in both cases. I seem to be making a basic error that I can't pinpoint. No problem calculating PH but I think I might be using the baselines incorrectly. Does anyone know of an online tutorial or video, here or elsewhere, on Piper charts?
Many thanks

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Richard

Richard replied the topic: Re: BAK - Piper TO and Landing Charts

Hi Rob,

It is the responsibility of your instructor to give you adequate instruction on the use of the performance charts for the aircraft examined in the BAK exam. PPL is another matter however, CASA uses the fictitious Alpha, Bravo and Charlie aircraft.

Having said that, I have a 20 year old copy of the Tomahawk Pilot's guide (from AFE) and looking at the P-Charts in the back of that, they seem to be just a simplified linear chart without allowances for slope and surface. You need to adjust for slope and surface using distance factors for take-off and landing which are listed in tables with the P-Charts e.g. factor take-off distance by 1.25 for short wet grass, factor take-off distance by 1.1 for 2% upslope etc