Header1200x385

× Welcome to the IREX question and answer forum. Please feel free to post your questions but more importantly also suggest answers for your forum colleagues. Bob himself or one of the other tutors will get to your question as soon as we can.

IREX success - 85%

• Thank you received: 0

wzyho created the topic: IREX success - 85%

I'm an older student and flying for a hobby. I have my PPL and decided to do the IREX to be a "safer" pilot. I started self-studying Bob Tait's IREX book 3 months prior to my exam while holding down a full time job (did not subscribe for the video lectures), took a 2 week break in the 3 month period and then started cramming Bob Tait's practice exams (and other paper exams from the pilot store) about 3 weeks prior to my scheduled exam date. It was a first time pass, and I'm grateful to Bob for getting me through this exam.

I thought the IREX content was tough, as I felt that the IREX assumed a lot of knowledge from some of the CPL modules which I was not exposed to (or had forgotten!) as a PPL. Perhaps this was because I was working a full time job unrelated to flying as well, and I had to go back to re-learn a lot of concepts which I thought I had understood initially but did not.

Some general tips on the exam:
- a good night's rest! (I had work keeping me up till quite late in the evening, and only had about 5 hours sleep the night before. My fault!)
- read the F(ull) question! (because of the amount of information that is in the exam questions, it is very easy to get misled about what the question is asking. In the practice questions, I caught myself answering with track error rather than drift because the question gave information like ADF indicator, heading and FPT. If the question is asking about drift, all you need is the ADF indicator! Because I knew I was prone to making these mistakes, I was extra careful in the exam, and this exact style of question came up!)