Header1200x385

facebook_page_plugin
× Welcome to the IREX question and answer forum. Please feel free to post your questions but more importantly also suggest answers for your forum colleagues. Bob himself or one of the other tutors will get to your question as soon as we can.

pass

• Scruffy
  • Topic Author

Scruffy created the topic: pass

Hi guys,

I passed the irex exam last week first try with 80%. Thought I would add to the other posts re expected questions. Of course the questions I got came from a bank, so I can only comment on the questions I actually received. I only used Bob Tait's irex to study from and I paid an irex instructor for a brief before I knew anything at all about irex to get a general overview. i studied for this test in 10 days (full study days).

As far as the exam as a whole went, I did find it fairly straight forward but I was very careful to read and re-read and re-read the question and decide exactly what information the question was asking before I went looking for answers etc. I also looked up the AIP / ERSA / CAO etc EVEN IF I KNEW THE ANSWER. not sure if this was a waste of time but i did it anyway. the exam is 3.5hrs, so you have time if you know roughly where to look. You can tab the AIP with 15tabs now, so make use of them. you aren't allowed to tab the DAPS although there is really no need.

Questions:

ICING - know what levels different types of icing is most probable and where the most severe icing is most likely. someone else mentioned this and i did look it up but still got a kdr re icing

CALCULATIONS - know how to orientate yourself using both the adf & vor. understand which way you are pointing and what it all means. draw pictures or use the formula, whatever works for you. you will be asked to work out TE & Drift. I also got asked to work out how many nm i was off track knowing the distance and angle off track.
- calculate the rated coverage of aids. the formula is in bob's irex book. remember it and use it.