Header1200x385

facebook_page_plugin
× Welcome to the IREX question and answer forum. Please feel free to post your questions but more importantly also suggest answers for your forum colleagues. Bob himself or one of the other tutors will get to your question as soon as we can.

NVFR CHTR alternate navaid requirements

• Ralph
  • Topic Author

Ralph created the topic: NVFR CHTR alternate navaid requirements

Well being an old mud-map pilot I thought I was flying visually with reference to the ground and water and using my mud-map with pre-marked headings, LSALT, ground lighting etc for navigation and that I could reach my alternate despite it not having an aid - so dooh I answered no requirements. :(

The question is:

Assuming that no OPRs are imposed by either weather or runway lighting, the minimum radio navigation aid requirement for an aerodrome to be suitable as an alternate for a NGT VFR CHTR flight is -
Choose one answer.
  1. two different aids are required
  2. there are no requirements
  3. at least two aids are required in the aircraft
  4. one VOR or one NDB or 1 GPS TSO 129 or higher is required

The explanation for the answer was:

For night VFR there must be a means of navigating to the destination - not necessarily a published approach for the destination. That means the destination must be served by an NDB or a VOR or the aircraft is equipped with a GPS TSO to at least the 129 standard and the pilot is qualified to use the chosen aid. AIP ENR 1.1 para 58.3.3 (which refers the a destination requiring an alternate unless it carries an aid and the aircraft can use it, or aircraft can use an approved GPS.)