Header1200x385

facebook_page_plugin
× Welcome to the CPL AGK question and answer forum. Please feel free to post your questions but more importantly also suggest answers for your forum colleagues. Bob himself or one of the other tutors will get to your question as soon as we can.

new questions

• pilot
  • Topic Author

pilot created the topic: new questions

Hi Bob.
How are you.

I just have a few question. I just have some triple with question on the practice exams while i'm studying.

question form the book P 3.18 says.

*yellow band on carby air temperature gauge indicates ice is:

a) about to start . b) well advance c) possible. d) unlikely.
Could you explain it to me why the answer should be C.

*application of carburettor heat when ice is present on an engine fitted with CSU is accompanied by?
the answer is : an initial drop, then an increase in MAP at constant RPM.
but why the second chose wrong, it says : a drop in MAP with constant RPM .

...SNIP...

thanks..

EDIT: Hi Pilot, I have removed these other questions from your post as we do not want full questions posted here in the forums. Please see the posting guidelines here . Don't worry, Bob and I saw your questions and will get back to you shortly... :)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

replied the topic: Re: new questions

Hi Pilot,

Here you go....

Yellow band on carby air temperature gauge indicates ice is: possible.
The CAT gauge gives an indication of the risk of carburettor ice occurring. It doesn’t actually tell you if carbie ice is present or not. The yellow range warns you that carbie ice is theoretically possible at the current temperatures measured in the inlet manifold. Whether ice actually forms is dependant on the atmospheric conditions of the day.

application of carburettor heat when ice is present on an engine fitted with CSU is accompanied by: an initial drop and then a rise in MAP with a constant RPM