Header1200x385

facebook_page_plugin
× Welcome to the enquiries forum. this is the place to ask questions relating to our books, our courses or the school. If you have a more specific problem relating to aviation theory, check out the Question and Answer forums. That's the best place to post your technical questions.

PAL

• James01
  • Topic Author

James01 created the topic: PAL

Hi All, this is my first post. I'm currently studying for my IRX and I'm a little confused. This question is relating to non RPT. If the Alternate aerodrome lighting is PAL operated an alternate is required unless a responsible person is available to manually switch on the runway lighting. AIP ENR 1.1 para 10.7.4.2 and ATC AU-303 3.4.3.

Then there is a "Special Deal for the Alternate comment"
You do not need to have standby power or a person in attendance if the alternate you choose has PAL so long as
1. Not RPT and not above 3500kg MTOW
2. you have 2 VHF radios,
3. or 1 VHF and 1 HF and 10min holding fuel.
AIP ENR 1.1 para 10.7.4.4 ATC AU-303 3.44 to 3.4.7

My question is, What is 2 VHF radios going to do if the PAL is not working? you have no standby and no person to put out portable lighting???

Any clarification will be helpful?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Thank you received: 0

S70BlackHawk replied the topic: PAL

Hi James,
The PAL question can be confusing at first especially if you haven't been exposed to NVFR or IFR at night. But easy once you understand a simple concept of what you need, and who provides it, becomes more apparent.
Sorry for the lengthy reply, but should explain in detail the "why" and therefore remember it better I hope.

You have many types of airports you can fly to at night. From Brisbane International where the lights are always on and have a backup power source with ATC active always, to Proserpine Airport where there is no tower and is serviced by PAL with backup power to an outback runway with only portable lighting.