Header1200x385

facebook_page_plugin
× Welcome to the enquiries forum. this is the place to ask questions relating to our books, our courses or the school. If you have a more specific problem relating to aviation theory, check out the Question and Answer forums. That's the best place to post your technical questions.

IREX 26th of May Changes

• Wobbles
  • Topic Author

Wobbles created the topic: IREX 26th of May Changes

EDIT: Apologies to all, was meant to post this in the IREX forum

Hi Everyone,

I am currently studying IREX and hope to have it finished in the next few weeks, however as the May 26th (Today) transition changes OZY's equipment there is one thing I can't rap my head around.

Since being upgraded to dual TSO-C146a receivers VH-OZY no longer requires an alternate for an aerodromes with ground based aid as it satisfies the RNAV-GNSS requirements which makes enough sense,

Yet in AIP ENR 1.1 Para 58.3.1 an alternate is still required for RPT and Charter Flights unless the destination is served by two seperate radio navigation aids, or the aircraft equipped has dual receivers for that one particular aid - this is the 26th May 2016 supplement as well.

My interpretation of this is that Radio Navigation Aids refers to VOR/NDB/DME and that the AIP is contradicting itself, and even with dual C146 receivers an alternate is still required. If anyone could shed some light on this and show what I've missed that would be greatly appreciated!

Cheers

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Thank you received: 257

bobtait replied the topic: IREX 26th of May Changes

Gidday Wobbles