Header1200x385

facebook_page_plugin
× Welcome to the forum!

Tell us and our members who you are, what you like and why you became a member of this site. We welcome all new members and hope to see you around a lot!

Glider pilot

• cathZBY
  • Topic Author

cathZBY created the topic: Glider pilot

Hi all

Decided to pursue aviation as a mid life career change. Was an engineer (telecommunications). In my mid 40's I'm probably crazy. B)

I've been gliding since 1986 and got about 2000 hours of gliding. I fly competitions when I can and have a special interest in coaching Juniors. I'm currently RTO/S (Regional Technical Officer/Sports = State Coach) for SA. My two sons (15 and 17) fly gliders and the older one also has a GFPT flying a Super Cub.

The glider pictured in my profile is my Nimbus 4DM. 2 seater, 26.5m wingspan, 60:1 glider and self launch with a rotax two stroke engine that retracts completely. Been instructing in gliders for 23 years and also hold a maintenance authority.

I have 4 other gliders, 3 are vintage including the ES52 Kookaburra (background of that photo but hard to see) built here in Australia which I still use regularly to help the club (Adelaide Uni) when they need an extra two seater.

Started power flying in 1994. used to have a share in a Grumman Traveler. Fly a Pawnee towing gliders. Flown Cirrus (glider and SR22 turbo), 182 RG, DA40D + lots of others. Recently got an RaAus licence too and working on getting my instructor rating transferred.

Quite enjoying the CPL journey but finding some differences in terminology get me from time to time so I have to be careful. Lucky to have a friend who is keen for me to fly his PC12 once I finish CPL, IREX, MECIR. Going to be busy. But only two exams to go to finish CPL.

Interested in getting an instructor rating in GA and aerobatics too.

Nice to meet you all

Cath

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Thank you received: 257

bobtait replied the topic: Glider pilot